Yo human, the clock is ticking

As I completed my walk home from work she stood at the entrance to the apartment parking lot, waiting for her children to arrive home from school on their bus. Looking up from her phone, she offered me a brilliant smile framed by a colorful Hijab and a friendly hello in response to my own smile and greeting. The moment was brief but meaningful. 

I see her and her children often in the complex. Yesterday, she followed her daughter as the six year old girl struggled to master riding her bike, albeit with training wheels. It brought back happy memories of my own as my father helped me to  graduate from training wheels to greater freedom as a bicyclist. 
It also reminded me that regardless of the color of our skin, our religious and cultural background, our political leaning, our social status, or our gender, we are human, God’s beloved creation. 

Yea, that’s right. Each of us is created by and loved by God. Imagine that. You may not agree. God loves you anyway. No matter what you have done, or think you have done. He loves you. But I suggest that you not ignore his love or take it for granted. The clock is ticking. Got questions? Ask away and I will reply when I can.

John 3:16-18 NRSV

“For God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, so that everyone who believes in him may not perish but may have eternal life. Indeed, God did not send the Son into the world to condemn the world, but in order that the world might be saved through him. Those who believe in him are not condemned; but those who do not believe are condemned already, because they have not believed in the name of the only Son of God.”

One thought on “Yo human, the clock is ticking

Leave a Reply

