waiting in the quiet

20140501-161446.jpg

It’s the calm before the gathering. A group of friends who minister in the margins among the poor and homeless will arrive soon. I know a few of them already. I will meet others for the first time tonight. So I wait in the quiet.

I wonder how their week has gone. Has it been hard? Are they hurting? Are they feeling ready to give up?

I will be doing a lot of listening tonight. This gathering is not about me. It’s about creating a space for those who minister in often challenging circumstances to speak their minds, their hearts. The first question I plan to ask the entire group is, “What do you need?”

Then I intend to listen and watch them interact.

For now, in these moments preceding their arrival, I wait in the quiet. Ever mindful of God’s presence, I place my trust in his providence, understanding that real hearts with real hurts will be joining me soon. Brokenness senses the presence of its counterparts. So also do I sense that tonight may well be the healing opportunity that some need.

Photo above taken by me immediately before writing this post.

Leave a Reply

