unplanned detours

20130509-175232.jpg

As I write these words I should be on a basketball court with a group of neighbor youth, giving instruction and encouragement, refereeing games, and building relationships. At least, that is where I would prefer to be on Thursday evenings. But sometimes life offers detours.

As I suggested in a tweet yesterday, we should “never underestimate the opportunity disappointments provide to trust in God’s providence.”

Meanwhile, I redirect my attention to some creative independent opportunities to touch the lives of specific homeless friends within my sphere of daily living. For now I will leave it at that, except to ask that you pray for me that God would supply resources and wisdom.

Also, please pray for my friends without homes with whom I have opportunity to connect, that they may feel Jesus’ presence, comprehend his love, and experience his goodness in ways that are transformative.

In time, opportunities to re-engage the neighbor youth through basketball may occur. I pray that happens soon. But I refuse to develop a lackadaisical, defeatist attitude particularly when the need is so great, the time so short, and God’s direction to keep pressing into the margins is so clear. So, off I go.

Now it’s your turn. What’s your next move?

Break camp and advance…

2 thoughts on “unplanned detours

  1. Hi Glen, I remembered that I hadn’t seen or heard much from you lately and I went to see it appears you opted out of the facebooks. I can’t blame you! I hope all is well with you and was just thinking of you and thought to say “Hey GLEN! How is it goin?” I think it was the very old VBS pictures that I had in my pictures archive that triggered the memories. Pictures of Rosie, Morgan and other kids, now not so much kids. My own 8 years old and I look at her and just think, man, you are huge! Hug to you Glen.

  2. Hi Heather! Good to hear from you. I hope you are all well. I will have to dig up those old photos for old times sake. I think I have some archived here on this blog. I drive through your town occasionally. Lots of memories from having lived there as a kid. Thanks for touching base. I pray God’s blessings for you and the family!

Leave a Reply

