The Lost Medallion: Movie Review

The best storytelling shows, rather than merely describing. The Lost Medallion navigates what looked to be a tricky balance between telling and showing with admirable deftness. Rather than offer a detailed description of the film here, I wish instead to share my personal reaction. A well-written detailed review by film critic Richard Propes may be found here. My friend Karl Bastian also offers an excellent perspective on his blog here.

The film started slowly, but captured my interest when the foster care mom shared with her son the difficult histories of a couple of the kids. Who among us wouldn’t feel empathy for their loneliness and fearfulness?

He quickly was roped into telling all the kids a story, and thus began The Lost Medallion.

By the end of the film, here is what I discovered: I cared about the characters, especially Allie and Billy. I enjoyed the comedic moments, variously supplied by the cartoonish villains and the resourceful and wise Faleaka. I also appreciated that there was sufficient action to propel the narrative forward.

Although this definitely is a family-friendly film, parents and leaders should note that it is rated PG for adventure violence and action. The violence is not gratuitous, but it also is not merely implied. People die and no attempt is made to sugarcoat this fact. This gives the film credibility, but some parents may wish to screen the film first to determine whether they wish for their younger kids to see it.

The Lost Medallion gives me hope that Christian film-making continues to make positive strides toward gaining credibility to influence culture in wholesome, positive ways. This is a good thing. Go see the film and tell others about it, too. The tender-hearted may need a hanky at times, but more often, be prepared to laugh, and to wonder what will happen next. Imagine that: a Christian film which subverts the decades-long tendency of predictability by fully engaging viewers in the story.

I hope they make another one as a follow-up. I was sad to see it end, but hopeful that this is the beginning of an inspiring, captivating series.

3 thoughts on “The Lost Medallion: Movie Review

  1. Great thoughts and encouraging observations about the development of Christian films in general. We need to see more films that do more story telling and less preaching and respect that the audience is intelligent enough to figure out the implications without them being patronizingly spelled out for them, which seems to be what most Christian films do. With only one exception I mention in my review, this film did that well, and it was refreshing.

  2. I’ve been interested in perhaps seeing this movie, so I appreciate your perspective. Your commentary about Christian filmmaking has me wondering if you are familiar with Steve Greisen’s work? http://www.reelproductions.net/about-us/

    His work (all non-fiction, Christian documentaries), is phenomenal… captivating and award-winning. He’s a true storyteller. :) Though he isn’t well known in the celebrity sense, he is well respected and honored in the film industry in both the Christian and secular markets. I highly recommend checking out some of his films… I’d love to know your thoughts.

  3. Hi Leanne,

    I’ve not heard of Steve Griesen. I will have to check out his website. Thank you for bringing it to my attention. If you decide to see Lost Medallion, please let me know what you think. I saw it on an advance review copy DVD, but not in the theater.

Leave a Reply

