in their shoes

I went to the grocery store this afternoon to pick up a few items. I particularly wanted 1/2 lb of 7% ground beef from the meat counter. Turns out the counter was closed over two hours earlier than their posted hours. Not sure why. At first I felt inconvenienced. I didn’t want to buy a much larger pre-packaged quantity for a much higher price.

While mulling it over I saw one of the meat workers leaving his work area, obviously dressed to go home. Part of me wanted to ask for his help, but then it occurred to me that maybe he had a valid reason for closing early. So, rather than inconvenience his plans to leave early, I merely smiled and said, “Hello,” as he walked past me.

For just a moment I put myself in his shoes and felt compassion for his perspective. How might I grow in maturity and missional sensitivity if I were to try to do that in all of my interactions? Not sure, but I intend to find out. Selfishness is boring anyway. Far more thrilling to bless others with no thought to my own personal gain.

Leave a Reply

