a song early in the morning

Last Friday I made my customary early morning drive into work. The sun had not yet risen. The cool of Fall and variously wilted leaves hinted at things to come in the weeks ahead. I arrived to my destination and immediately commenced my pre-drive routine.

Soon, I began my run in the truck, heading south to Tualatin. A curious sight caught my attention: a brilliant sunrise perfectly silhouetted by residual smoke from the fires east of the Cascades.

20120925-190429.jpg

A smoldering ball of flame. Our source of heat and light on earth. Such fearsome beauty and power.

20120925-190855.jpg

I was able to perceive it in part only because of the heavy atmospheric filter provided by the fires from afar. Yet, perceive it I did with a song in my heart.

“Sunrise in the morning.
Let all creation greet the dawn
And praise the Lord who created
Brother sun to open our eyes.

For all of us would be blind
If not for the light of the Lord.

For all of us would be blind
If not for the light of the Lord.”

John Michael Talbot based on writings of St Francis of Assisi

2 thoughts on “a song early in the morning

Leave a Reply

