Don’t be flippant with your life

Life is too short to take ourselves flippantly. Like a drop in a bucket is our lifespan, but it’s impact can be so much more far reaching. We tend to worry about stuff that doesn’t matter, and flippantly set aside what matters most. We are a study in perplexing contrasts. Left unchecked and uncorrected, our priorities send us hellbent toward profound regret at the end of our days.

Do I have your attention?
Do my words resonate?
Good.
There is hope for you.
In Christ alone.

I think about my own life with its years of stupid decisions.

Choosing to take offense at people who seek to annoy me (or inadvertantly do so) rather than taking control of my own feelings based on my identity in Christ.

Choosing to sin through my attitudes, thoughts, words, and actions on more occasions than I can possibly remember, rather than be faithful to Christ.

Choosing to believe the lie that this propensity to be unfaithful due to my sin nature renders me worthless to Christ and an unforgivable shame both to God and to the church.

Indeed my sin is a shame; there is truth to that. But Jesus Christ’s love covers a multitude of sins. Mine. Yours.

Yes, yours.

Even the ones you think no one knows about. Those thoughts you hold deep in your heart. Those actions you thought you would never do. He knows the pain. He sees the regret. Jesus said,

“Come to me, all you that are weary and are carrying heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me; for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light” (Matthew 11:28-30).

The writer of One John wrote,

This is the message we have heard from him and proclaim to you, that God is light and in him there is no darkness at all. Ifwe say that we have fellowship with him while we are walking in darkness, we lie and do not do what is true; but ifwe walk in the light as he himself is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus his Son cleanses us from all sin. Ifwe say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. Ifweconfess our sins, he who is faithful and just will forgive us our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness. Ifwe say that we have not sinned, we make him a liar, and his word is not in us (1 John 1:5-10).

God is not surprised at what you have done or what you are now thinking. He extends his grace through Jesus Christ. Simple as that. Join me in making the right choice. Let’s follow him together now and in the days to come.

Leave a Reply

