just be yourself

Sometimes I feel like ranting. This is such a moment. I observe so many people running around trying to be who they are not. It makes me want to do something drastic, like, like, like…..write a poem! But not to worry. I already did that back in 2007. So ease into your chair, turn on soothing instrumental music, and allow this poem to speak to the issue of learning to be yourself, rather than what everyone else would have you to be.

Expectations

I’m just me, not anyone else. I can’t be what they expect of me,
caped and hooded as a masked wonder of unrealistic expectations,
commissioned to wield influence, work mysteries and lead.
Better to remain in simplicity, as I am.

Caped and hooded as a masked wonder of unrealistic expectations,
is what others would have me be; its what they expect of me.
Better to remain in simplicity, as I am,
than desire to achieve the heights of notoriety, which

is what others would have me be; its what they expect of me,
commissioned to wield influence, work mysteries and lead,
rather than desire to achieve the heights of notoriety, which–
I’m just me, not anyone else. I can’t be what they expect of me.

5 April 2007 by Glen Alan Woods
Source

2 thoughts on “just be yourself

  1. I, too, find myself frustrated while watching people (my students in particular) trying to be someone they’re not. Your poem expressed your frustrations very clearly—and some of mine, too! It’s nice to know that I’m not the only one aggravated by those that can’t just be themselves. I plan on sharing your poem with my class next week in hopes that they’ll open up about the issue.

  2. Thank you for the kind words, Matilda. I am thankful the poem was an encouragement to you, and I hope it is also encouraging to your students!

Leave a Reply

