health and strength

A quick post from the seminary library. I am feeling better. Thank you to those who have been praying for me. I slept a lot from Friday through Sunday. Monday I returned to work. Today I feel somewhat human. My laptop battery is down, so until I get it replaced I will not be online as much. Maybe that isn’t such a bad thing. Did you know that there are things you can concentrate on better if you have no access to internet or the computer? Who knew? Just kidding. Or am I? :) Be blessed. Time for me to venture out into soggy, dark Portland traffic.

4 thoughts on “health and strength

  1. Hi Glen,

    I’m sniffing around for some information, and can’t find any. Do you have any resources related to the history of Kids Church? Or the broader Kids Ministry, I suppose. But I’m particularly interested in how the format of an entire church service for kids came to be. Reading my grandfather’s autobiography, he was in Sunday school in 1925, so apparently that existed then! Very interesting reading about Sunday school in 1925. Anyways, if you’re like me and unsure of any such resources, any leads on where I might look? Thanks in advance!!

  2. Hi Peter,

    I have good news and bad news. The good news is that I do have some information for you. The bad news is I only have a couple of minutes left on a borrowed computer at the library and I will not have computer access again until next weekend as I am waiting for new parts for my home laptop. If you need information sooner, try googling Robert Raikes. That will reveal information about ministry to kids in England. Also, try googling Henrietta Mears. There are several books about children in the Bible, and also in church history, which would naturally predate 1925. Later, I can cite some of those books to give you resources. In my doctoral research I dealt with aspects of this issue, and I intend to do more in the days to come. I appreciate the question. Not many people today seem too concerned with it. Thanks!

  3. Dear Glen,
    We love the fact that your blog is about Children’s Ministry and we would like you to review our new systematic theology for kids series.

    Have you ever heard of Theo Presents? We are a new company dedicated to making products that will help teach children systematic theology. You can check out what we are about by visiting us at http://www.theopresents.com or http://www.facebook.com/theopresents.

    While we are still in the production stages of our first episodes, we are getting ready to launch our new Website and online store.

    We want to have a pre-launch blogger review of our first two episodes and that’s where you come in. We are still working on our press kit and as soon as it is ready to go we will send you a link to our first two episodes and a digital copy of our press kit. This will give you a first look at Theo and give you a chance to introduce us to your readers.

    In the event you do choose to post a review on your blog, PLEASE remember to add the below text at the bottom of your blog review per FTC guidelines.

    “Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    If you have any questions or would like to review us, please send an e-mail to the provided address.
    Thank you and God bless,
    Emily Philpot

  4. Dear Emily,

    Thank you for the kind words and the offer of this opportunity. Unfortunately, as you will notice by reading my disclaimer page, I no longer accept unsolicited requests for product reviews. I hope you find others who are in a better position to help you out.

Leave a Reply

