sidelined by illness

I have come down with a nasty cold. I am taking no chances. Sleep, rest, lots of fluids, and staying warm are my priorities for the remainder of the weekend. I can’t afford to miss work. Instead, I have to forego going to a birthday party for my niece today, and my final day of teaching kids in kids church tomorrow. It is a poignant reminder that good intentions sometimes must step aside for reality. If my cold only affected me, then I would not hesitate to go to both gatherings. But that is the problem. If I go, I could pass my germs to someone else, and that is not a good or advisable thing to do. So, I bow out quietly.

Leave a Reply

