The End is Near

The end is near. My life as a Children’s Pastor is drawing to a close. 1 1/2 weeks remain. I find myself reflecting on the memories gathered over the years. I do not regret the experience; I rejoice in the privilege I have had to serve the local church in this way. My thoughts span the years served in my current church (15 yrs), as well as my former place of ministry (13 yrs volunteering in CM; 4 in CM leadership). Twenty-eight years in two churches. Hard to believe.

Any good editor must be alert to the content and form of the material before attempting to shape it in new ways. If I am to edit portions of my life, the same principle applies. So, I remember the years which have passed, and I am attentive to this present season. What is God saying? Where is he leading? What choices have I as I ponder my next steps? These are the kinds of questions which will surface in the coming weeks.

Clearly, I will need to decompress for awhile. I intend to steward my newfound margin with a view toward discerning God’s heart for me, and for the city, or wherever he will lead me. I have no grand pronouncements to make, no ace up my sleave. I have only my human frailty and my trust in God. A sojourn in the margins seems very appealing. In my weakness, God will be shown strong. I long to rely all the more on his strength to accomplish his purposes in and through me.

Will you do the same?

6 thoughts on “The End is Near

  1. My prayers are with you for His direction as you move forward. I enjoy your blog posts and I hope you will keep them coming. Be blessed, dear brother. :)
    “Blessed is the man that trusteth in the LORD, and whose hope the LORD is.” (Jer. 17:7 KJV)

  2. I can’t wait to see what great things our Father has in store for you. Just rest, now. I am praying for you.

  3. Glen:

    I am also looking forward to seeing what plan God has for you. I really believe he has a great plan for you life! I will pray that he makes the path clear for you to follow! Let me know if I can help in any way!

  4. Thank you, Scott! Always fun to hear from you in this setting. I look forward to sharing a Thanksgiving meal with you and your family. We will talk more then.:)

Leave a Reply

