less is more

I am in a cleaning mode. Document shredding, clutter removal, and organizing are all part of the mix. I am coming to terms with the fact that I need to remove a large quantity of books from my home, plus various other unneeded items. They simply need to go. Somewhere; anywhere, preferably not here. So, to help make the decision which books should be sent packing, I am creating a bibliography of my library using Bibme, a free web-based resource. So far, I am liking it. By simply entering the ISBN I can pull up complete information and quickly save it to the bibliography. The system automatically puts it in properly cited form (e.g., MLA, APA, Chicago, or Turabian) and in correct alphabetic relationship to the other cited works. In other words, it saves a whole lot of time.

The beauty of this process is it provides greater margin in space (less really is more) and time (oh, so THAT is where I left that item!). I suppose all the serious decluttering and cleaning I have been doing at work is paying off in motivating me to do the same at home.

Take a look at your work space, and your home environment. Do you sense that less is more might be a good motto for the coming days?

3 thoughts on “less is more

  1. Few things in life are more difficult than decluttering and parting with “stuff” once deemed important or still deemed sentimental… may God give you the STRENGTH!

    To inspire you:

    Ezekiel 5:4
    Again, take a few of these and throw them into the fire and burn them up. A fire will spread from there to the whole house.

  2. So, what you are saying is that I should start a fire…. Okay… I can do this. “It only takes a spark to get a fire going….” (singing voice trails off as the fire gains volume) :P Thanks for the encouragement, my friend!

  3. I’ve been in hyper decluttering mode too. I’ve made at least three trips to the consignment store in the last few weeks. Books, I admit are my weakness. I hate getting rid of them. Usually, I put a post-it in the front cover with a date about 1-2 years in the future. If I haven’t read the book by then, away it goes. Less is more. I love living without clutter.

Leave a Reply

