life as a jar of clay

Today was my first full day in the warehouse by myself without having extensive distractions from other important priorities. It was quiet, save a few deliveries and numerous phone calls to and from vendors, customers and co-workers in various locations. Yet, sweat poured off my brow as I worked quickly to bring some semblance of order to the neglected warehouse space and later to the show floor. There is more work to be done, but a great deal was accomplished. Satisfying.  

I conclude the week exhausted. Next week promises much more of the same. But another kind of work demands my attention. You know, the children’s ministry leadership kind. There are prospective volunteers to call, current workers to connect with, parents to encourage, children to influence through prayer, encouragement and leadership development, facilities to prepare for Sunday morning, and so on. And then there is this business of doing life with others in their contexts. Being among them. Being real. It involves an ebb and flow of priorities, keeping Christ central through it all. There are times of laughter, to be sure. But it also means sharing my brokenness when I am hurting, including giving of myself even when I simply want to place my pillow over my head and drown out the world.

I do not despair, because I know I have this treasure in a jar of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from me (2 Corinthians 4:7-8 paraphrased). 

Therefore, I will not lose heart. I will not give up. I will not follow the pattern of this world which whispers of the delights of promising opportunities elsewhere, or worse, avoiding responsibilities for the sake of momentary self-indulgence. If I make any moves, I want it to be because God is moving me, and not because I am checking out of his purposes.

Leave a Reply

