when scars hurt

There are scars on my hands from the work I do. Sometimes they hurt, but the pain is soon forgotten in the midst of my labor. Some scars heal, leaving only faint traces of the wounds once inflicted. Some bleed when reopened through the trauma of cold and handling coarse objects. They cause me to wonder….

I bear scars on my body from labor and various close encounters with hard surfaces. Perhaps you do, too.  But what of the scars which cannot be seen? What of those things we bear down deeply in our souls?

Jesus endured physical labor as a carpenter and cruel torture at the hands of the Romans. He understands scars, both physical and emotional. He wept at the tomb of his friend Lazarus. He pleaded in the garden of Gesthemane that this cup would be taken from him, and then acceded to the Father’s will. Drops of blood accompanied the sweat dripping from his forehead. He cried out, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” while on the cross of crucifixion. Yes, Jesus understands suffering.

Some of you have scars. Deep in your hearts. It hurts. And you wonder…

“Does God know my pain?”

“Does He hear my prayer?”

“Does anyone even care?”

The nail scars on Jesus’ hands show us that he understands the pain we endure. He bore astonishingly cruel torture and death by asphyxiation. He did this out of love for us. His sacrifice paid the price for our sin. And he rose again bodily and is now at the right hand of the Father. Interceding with the Father on our behalf, while also preparing a place for us. So yes, God knows your pain. He hears your prayer. And he does care.

So, come to God in your suffering, in your pain, in your confusion, in your anxiety, and lay your burden down. I know it hurts. I have my own hurts that are hard to let go. I understand. Lay it down. Let the peace of the Lord Jesus Christ fill your heart as you begin to worship him. If you are not sure whether you have a relationship with Jesus or even what that means, I encourage you to go to this website, just to get you thinking. If you would like to ask me questions about it, then don’t hesitate to email me at glenawoods @ aol.com.

Leave a Reply

