of decisions and their implications

I try to plan ahead in work, ministry and life, but sometimes decisions are placed before me which require immediate attention, even if I am not ready to decide. I prefer to spend time weighing options. However, the window of opportunity is short in this case, just ten more days. So, I scramble to expedite my process and in the end, make the best decision possible. It is all I can do.

In some ways the decision is small and routine. But in ways known only to me and God, it impacts me at a far deeper level. I suspect God would be fine with any one of several scenarios. In the hindsight that one day will occur to me, perhaps I will see it that way, too. But right now it presses on me, demanding a decision with potential long-term implications. For this reason I pray and I use my best judgment, trusting that God will order my thoughts and guide my steps.

Leave a Reply

