a recent conversation with God

Lord, so many years ago I held in my hands a globe representing earth, and I wept for the nations.

I am bringing the nations to you.

I was a child then, praying for people who were hungry and without hope. So far away they were on the other side of the globe.

I am bringing the nations to you

I prayed that you would raise up  people to help them. That you would raise me up. That you would send me.

I am bringing the nations to you

In my youth I cried out to you for children all over the world suffering in war, famine, trafficking and poverty. I wondered what could be done to help them. So I prayed.

I am bringing the nations to you

I don’t know if I will ever cross a national border to help tangibly, but my heart yearns to help those who do go. People like Robert Newhall, Tamara Henkes, and so many others who die-to-self daily for the sake of the gospel. You bring them to the nations.

I am bringing the nations to you.

As a child, I read in a textbook the inscription printed at the base of the Statue of Liberty which says in part,

Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore.
Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me,
I lift my lamp beside the golden door!”

I see them everyday, Lord. Give me wisdom and strength to be a refuge of grace and help for them. I wept then, and now. I am not ashamed of the gospel of Jesus Christ.

I am bringing the nations to you. They are in your neighborhood, and throughout your community. You have been befriending them. And not only the children, but their parents. Indeed, I am bringing the nations to you.

I don’t know if I am able….

I am able.

I don’t know if I have what it takes…

I have what it takes.

I am sinful…

In Christ, you are righteous. And that is how I see you.

I–

I AM, that I AM. Is that not enough?

**Silence**

And just because I am bringing the nations to you, it does not mean I won’t someday send you abroad. I heard the prayers of your youth. I haven’t forgotten your willingness to go anywhere in the world, even if it means staying where you are, or going to a place I will show you….I am not finished with you.

Leave a Reply

