when night approaches

The day is done. The banquet was lovely, with good food, skillful music, and delightful testimonies by six master’s level graduates. A full night of celebration among kind people. I sat at a table in the far corner of the hotel banquet hall, along with seven other people, three of whom are also graduating. The two girls to my right are from Indonesia and Japan. The couple to my left are from the Portland area where he serves at the mission and in his local church working with marginalized adult men. Precious people, all. It is a shame I couldn’t get to know them better. But I enjoyed the time we did have.

And so now night approaches with the promise of a new day, a day of celebration and joy, a day of reflection and hope. I look forward to seeing my family and honoring them for their part in my journey. I embrace the night knowing that God is not finished with me. A new chapter is about to dawn.

Leave a Reply

