the missional honeymoon is over

I have been reaching out to the apartments weekly since last summer. I have enjoyed a rather long positive season. I think the honeymoon is over. Now the real work begins. While I remain positive about this outreach, I recognize that some of the children are beginning to feel comfortable enough to allow bad behavior to come to the surface. You know, swearing in their home language, lying about it, arguing and fighting, that sort of thing.

My heart’s desire is that they come to know God through Jesus Christ. I am praying to that end. In the meantime I have to help them learn how to behave on campus with reasonable social skills.

My plan is to pay more frequent surprise visits to the apartments as the weather turns nicer. I am hoping that I can build better working relationships with their parents and with the kids themselves, plus get to know new families in the community. Will you stand with me in prayer in the weeks ahead? I am going to need it.

Leave a Reply

