working myself out of a job

When I started in children’s ministry leadership years ago, I learned early on that I cannot do the ministry on my own. I need help. It requires a team effort. It requires gathering together people with skills, talents, and leadership capacity which I do not necessarily have. Yet, it is not simply about the expressions of ministry which occur during worship, Sunday school or mid-week Kids club. It is also what happens in the homes of families. My aim in the coming days is to take team building to a whole new level, maintaining the ministries which are required for service times, but emphasizing what happens during the week in the homes of children and their families. No, I will not become a surrogate parent. But I will apply my energy toward instigating conversations, networking, mentoring and intentionality in the homes so that parents will be encouraged to buy in to the fact they they are the primary nurturers of their children. I hope to become one catalyst among many who inspires contagious dreams of aligning behavior with belief, so that what we do matches what we say; so that what we say aligns with the heart of God for our families. I have no interest in creating new programs, starting an organization, writing a book (despite the fact I am having to write a dissertation to complete my degree),  or drawing attention to myself. I simply want to be a part of turning the hearts of parents to their children particularly in relation to spirituality, and the hearts of children to their parents as well. I simply want to help families be the kind of families that God has in mind.

I want to work myself out of a job which is defined as providing the bulk of spiritual formation content (Bible reading, Bible memory, prayer, skill training) for children whose mature Christian parents need to take on that responsibility for themselves in tangible ways, so that I can focus more intently on raising up generations of leaders to help provide ministry to children who do not live in Christian homes, and who have never heard the gospel, and for children who live in many kinds of extraordinary circumstances.

Leave a Reply

