coming up for air

I am coming up for air, just for a moment. This week I have been busy reading, writing, outlining, and submitting parts of my dissertation for feedback. Chapter two is being assessed right now by my readers while I begin writing chapter three. My pastor, who just finished his doctorate last Spring, warned me that I will ever continually be tempted to make revisions. At some point I simply have to move forward. I am realizing the truth of that statement. The dissertation is kind of like a snapshot of my understanding at a given point of time. Naturally my learning and my interaction with the sources ought to continue beyond that point. Right now I just need to complete the final stages of my research, write up the results, draw conclusions and then submit it, hoping for the best. So off I go, diving back into statistics, field notes, primary sources, and relaxing music, with the occasional dip in the pool of course. Hmm. Sounds good.

Leave a Reply

