Defining Success for Easter Sunday

The vast majority of kids in my church attended the adult Easter play this morning with their families. Over in Kids Church I had prepared for sixty kids, expected about thirty to forty, and actually had seven with me and my helper, plus an additional seven in the preschool room with their teacher. And I was happy. I was happy because not only did a large number of children get to experience a first-rate rendition of the easter story with their parents and guardians, many of those who attended were brand new kids. Some even came to Kids Church and the small number allowed me to get to know them. So all things considered, it was a successful morning, from a certain point of view. I realize some might be shaking their heads and wondering at my perspective. But I look at it this way. It was never about me or my preparations. It is about bringing glory to Jesus and helping families experience him together. That is something worth celebrating.

Leave a Reply

