heart connections through competition

I played a friendly game of PIG (similar to the basketball shooting game of horse, but shorter) with one of the new kids, an 8 year-old boy, today. He is from the local neighborhood. Tonight was only his second week. We played three rounds. I won the first. He won the second. We played a cliff hanger third, with me squeaking it out. Fortunately for me, I finally started getting warmed up late in the game, recovering some of my youthful long-range accuracy. But that really didn’t matter. What mattered is that he thrived with the joy of having a grown up male spend meaningful time with him. I don’t know a lot about his background. I do know he is a young man with his whole life ahead of him, a life full of meaning and hope. Perhaps the moments spent doing ordinary things within a framework of godly community will have redemptive impact on his life. The friendly competition we enjoyed were more about heart connections, than about who won. I know, easy for me to say since I won the game. But believe me, he had me running scared for awhile with a couple of his shots from the corner of the free throw line. It was one of the moments which reminded me of why I chose to remain with children’s ministry for all of these years.

One thought on “heart connections through competition

  1. That’s really cool to see God and connection in the midst of everyday life. That’s really what relationship is all about. Very cool.

Leave a Reply

