When Health Returns

After a week of illness, having come down with a mild flu, I am returning to health. My energy stores are operating at satisfactory, if not optimal, levels. Sleep has done wonders, in addition to the margin I chose to factor into my life by cutting out extraneous activities. I did not enjoy missing ministry to the kids last Sunday and Wednesday, but I am confident that I can return tomorrow morning to worship the Lord and learn with them.

I am also preparing for my final doctoral intensive at Western Seminary in Portland, Oregon with Randy Frazee of Willow Creek Church. The intensive will run from Monday through Thursday from 8:30 am to 4 or 5 pm. I look forward to a productive time of learning which will greatly benefit my preparations for the dissertation proposal which I soon plan to submit as a rough draft. If time permits, I will post thoughts each night on what I am learning. However, don’t hold me to that as I may have opportunities for extended interaction with students and Dr. Frazee, which would take precedent over logging on to the web.

The light at the end of the tunnel is a faint, but tangible glimmer for this leg of my educational journey. I don’t expect that I shall try to pursue any other degrees when I complete my DMin. However, I have no doubt that life-long learning will take many creative forms, not least the fulfillment of my dream to travel and minister internationally at some point.

So I invite your prayers for me through all of this, especially those of you who are already doing so. I can assure you, your prayers are felt and appreciated deeply.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

