Taking a Day Off

Monday is the day in which I typically rest from work. Since I work every Saturday at the floorcovering store and since Sunday is a workday at the church, that leaves Monday for rest and renewal. Yes, I still do things around my home such as basic chores. But for the most part I momentarily set aside work responsibilities so I can focus on the Lord and also enjoy time with friends or family, although the last two are hard since most people work on Monday.

Today I will be taking my new digital camera out on a photo excursion, equipped with a new 2 gig memory card. I hope to develop some photography skills by taking nature shots of the fall colors and local geography. I will share the results here soon.

I realize this post is a departure from topics about children’s ministry. Or is it? Children’s ministry leaders, whether full-time like many of you, or part-time volunteer like me, lead full lives outside of our ministry responsibilities. We should never have to apologize for taking a well-earned day off for our sake, and for the sake of our families.

When is the last time you truly rested? Was the cell phone turned off? Did you turn off the computer for the day? Did you take a day-long break from responding to messages on your home answering machine for this question or that admonishment or the other idea? Did you rest in a way that brought you closer to Jesus and to your family?

Hmm. If you didn’t, then go ahead and mark your next available day off on your calendar and inform the leaders in your church, such as the church pastor and office manager or secretary and your staff that you plan to take a day of rest and do not wish to be contacted for any reason other than a legitimate emergency. You may need to explain to them what constitutes a legitimate emergency. Let the parents of the kids know too, if necessary.

Inform them you are taking a day off and that you will not be available for any contact. If you have family, inform them to make the same preparations. Then follow through by turning off your cell phones, pagers, laptops, whatever. Then do something as a family, either at home or elsewhere. Use your imagination. If you are single like me, then go and leave the demands of your responsibilities for awhile, whether it means spending time with relatives or visiting with friends or going out and making new friends, if none are available on your day off. Or simply enjoy some solitude by worshipping the Lord in the great outdoors or reading a good book.

The point is, take that day off and make it count toward revitalizing your heart, mind and body. Don’t settle for anything less than that. I know I won’t. That is why I am on the way out the door right now with my water bottle in one hand, my writing materials in the other and my digital camera in my pocket. I plan to write and take photos while considering the glory of God’s creation.

What are your plans?

2 thoughts on “Taking a Day Off

  1. Just wanted to post a HUGE AMEN that time away from ministry is probably the best thing you can do FOR your ministry!

    Love the pictures! You were worshiping the entire time as you focused on God’s amazingly beautiful creation… we share that passion to try and capture it on film, er, memory cards!

  2. Amen, Karl. Some of my fondest memories, both distant and recent, relate to excursions into the wild to worship the Lord. I will take the sanctuary of God’s creation over a fancy building any day of the week.

Leave a Reply

