It Seemed So Quiet

It seemed so quiet in that room, alone in the dark shadows of fading light. In their loneliness the shadows remembered the giggle of little girls skipping across the gymnasium floor, singing and twirling. They remembered the laughter of boys as they jumped and wrestled with each other. They remembered them well and expected their return. As I briefly stepped into the room this evening to retrieve an item, I was struck by the silence. I looked forward to the return of the giggles and laughter in only a couple of days. I will be there early and stay late as is my custom, so I can be sure to greet every family on their arrival and wish them well on their departure. It seemed so quiet, but not for long.

Blessings,

Glen Woods

Leave a Reply

