Flag Waving American: Yet I have some concerns…

I am a flag waving American. It’s true. I love my country and the principles of liberty and justice for all for which it stands. I know the country has had problems from the outset. After all, it consists of people. Screwed up people. Like me. I will let you decide whether you belong in that characterization. Bottom line is that despite our principles we manage to make a mess of things and to contradict the very things we hold dear. I won’t make a list here because that is not the point. The point is: we are flawed. But I maintain that the American ideal of liberty and justice for all is fundamentally good insofar as it places God at the center of all that we are and do. What other country in history has attempted this?

Many pundits on the left side of the political and religious cultural scene have undertaken to highlight the very real and also the assumed (from a liberal perspective, e.g. guns, wealth for those who work for it, personal liberty to make choices and experience resultant benefits and consequences, etc) faults and by extension to deconstruct the validity of our nation’s formation (the fleeing of religious persecution in Britain, the Declaration of Independence, and the Revolutionary War), and later key defining seasons which sought to correct clear evils in our culture (the Civil War comes to mind, relevant because it sought to abolish slavery, as does the arrogant and horrific systemic treatment of Native Americans). I agree with some of their criticism, but not all. Nor do I agree with their conclusions which are motivated by unabashed liberalism and Christian progressivism.

My first loyalty is to the Lord God and to his Son Jesus Christ. My primary citizenship is heaven. Thus, I am present here and now on earth and as an American citizen, but my actions, attitudes, motives and their collective results will be judged by God alone. I know this. Likewise, I do not question the similar claims of those who disagree strongly with me. Only God knows such matters.

But what am I to do as I see the country I love denigrated repeatedly by the political, media, and religious power brokers of our time? How am I to respond when actions are taken which erode personal liberties, destroy initiative to be innovative and entrepreneurial, punish hardworking wealth earners by taking from them to give to those who will not work, and forcing people to rely on the state for income and health benefits (and taxing them as a penalty for opting out!), rather than their own work ethic?

Many of my friends would suggest that I should not get involved at all so that I do not burn bridges of friendship. Yet, those same friends continually encourage agreement with policies which appall me. Surely, burning bridges is not my intent and it certainly will not occur by my choice. But neither can I remain silent when a president of the United States seeks to destroy the foundation upon which this nation was built in order to make it more liberally palatable. That is, he seeks to create the perceived and real need for government intrusion into personal lives, business, the marketplace, and perhaps soon into religious institutions so that there is an equitible distribution of misery which cries out for help from the powerful: in the liberal matrix, the powerful are the aristocracy of politicos, media mavens and celebrities,  and also the social service agencies which are dependent on the financial considerations of their benefactors.

So, I wave the American flag today, praying for our nation, for our president, for our Supreme Court, for all of our elected representatives, and for the American people as we race headlong into the most critically defining election cycle in recent memory.

Don’t despair, those of you who may agree with all or part of my post. Just vote your conscience in November and encourage others to do the same. And to those of you who disagree with me, be sure to vote your consciences, too. Too much is at stake for any of us to assume that others will make the right decision without our direct participation in the process.

God bless each and every one of you and God bless America!

One response to “Flag Waving American: Yet I have some concerns…

  1. From the capital of the Confederacy let me say that staunch Civil War historians/enthusiasts claim the Civil War was not about slavery, but states’ rights. Not that I personally buy that, but it is an argument that comes up every time there is a struggle over monuments to Civil War leaders and certain ethnic groups that are offended by them.

Leave a Reply

