concerning faxes

The other day I was conversing with a notary at a local UPS Store and arranging for a document to be faxed immediately. She promptly did so, whereupon I asked if I could get a copy of the fax. She said, “You can have the original back.”

I replied, “But didn’t the original travel through the wire?”

She said, “Well, the fax line transmits an electronic signal which sends a facsimile of the document to its destination. The original does not travel through the wire.”

I smiled and laughed, “I was just kidding. It is a Dilbert joke I read the other day.”

She visibly relaxed and said, “Oh. We really do get people asking that question and they are quite serious.”

Leave a Reply

