Thankful All Year Long

I am thankful all year long for many things.

I am thankful to the Lord Jesus Christ for dying on the cross for my sins and for rising again bodily three days later, victorious over hell and death. I am thankful for his promise of forgiveness as I repent of my sin, asking his forgiveness and committing my life to follow him as Lord and Savior.

I am thankful for my family, everyone of them. Although we are apart most of the time, it is great to be able to see them throughout the year during special occasions. I am especially thankful for my mom and dad. Mom, I will see you in a couple of hours. Dad, although you have passed on recently, you are in my thoughts constantly.

I am thankful for my friends, both nearby and all around the world. Some of you I have never met in person. When the Lord comes it is going to be a grand reunion. Let’s just be sure we are ready, yes? :)

I am thankful for my church. I serve with a stellar team of pastors, elders, deacons, ministry leaders, volunteers, parents and most notably, the children. You are dear to my heart. Every one of you.

I am thankful for those with whom I am in ongoing conversations about faith in Jesus Christ. You ask penetrating questions. Most of you are respectful of my faith, even though you do not believe the way I do. You teach me to keep it real and to look at the world from a broader point of view which helps me to perceive the unfortunate incursions of regional cultural elements into the life of the church which are inconsistent with what it means to follow Jesus. Sometimes we do not understand each other. It is as if we are speaking a different language. I am thankful that you are teaching me to listen to you on your terms, rather than only through a specialized grid of religious and academic jargon. You are teaching me to relate to you as a person, rather than an adversary to be conquered and then forgotten. Over the years, this has caused me to make friends of many of you. I am very thankful for that.

I am thankful for the new friends I am making by networking through children’s ministry blogs. You people inspire me. I would name names, but then I surely would forget someone, and I can’t have that. You encourage me through the positive attitudes you display in your interactions. You share freely your great ideas, unique perspectives, your struggles and failures and your love for the Lord. Thank you! Your influence is greater than you might suspect. There are children’s ministry leaders on the verge of calling it quits who just happen to connect to your blog and something you have written gives them the hope to keep on trying. So thank you for all you do!

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

Leave a Reply

