Of Walks and Remembrance

I walk up the embankment, alone among the elements under the clear blue sky, except for a young couple in the distance. Trees whisper in hushed reverence; grass too, but not here. Here there is simply dirt and then gravel farther above; the grass awaits its turn to provide a blanket of comfort to this newest domain. I look for evidence that I have arrived. Almost there…ah, here it is. Dad’s grave marker. I read it, and I read it again. My eyes blur in recognition, losing focus for the tears which overcome me as I embrace grief’s inevitable hold. And I weep for loss and love; I remember, but do not despair. For a new day awaits us when, in eternity, we are united again with each other and the Lord.

Leave a Reply

