Connecting With Parents

I was reminded tonight of the importance of maintaining positive connections with the parents of the kids I pastor. I had a very constructive conversation with a parent which highlighted some areas of concern for a child and also for how that child understands the way the parents communicate. I pointed out that young children are very concrete thinkers. Therefore they do not always understand nuance and joking. They tend to take what adults say literally. The parent agreed with my observation and I then observed that this specific child seems to be taking some things literally at home with unintended consequences. I am hopeful that this conversation will prove fruitful in stemming some of the misunderstandings I have been discerning in the child’s perception of appropriate behavior. The parent was very grateful for my observations and invited me to maintain the lines of communication.

Leave a Reply

