Celebrating a life

The gathering spilled out into the foyer with standing room only to celebrate the life of a precious little girl. Many tears. Many hugs of comfort. Words, songs, photos and memories. And silent wonder at a life well lived, if even for a short time. There were faces I had not seen in a long while. It was a comfort to see them again. There were moments of intense sadness interspersed with radiant joy and laughter.

I spent private moments with numerous people, young and old. I wanted them to know I love them — that I am praying for them. We forget too easily in the everyday bustle of life. Life is so precious, so brief this side of eternity. If I must be alone, at least I can do it in the community of faith with the fellowship of saints. For that I am thankful.

You may view Jaclynn’s tribute here.

Leave a Reply

